Complaints of a Cube Dweller

I have an office job. A pretty good office job. It’s not the most exciting job in the world but it pays the bills and is close to my apartment. Typically I do my job with very few complaints, but if there is one thing that frustrates me to no end it’s the key pad on my telephone versus the keypad on my computer. Seriously. It’s a valid complaint.

This is a picture of my office phone –

Notice the numbers? The 1 is in the top left and the 9 is in the bottom right.
Here is a picture of a typical keyboard keypad –

See the difference? Here the 7 is in the top left and the 3 is in the bottom right. It is completely opposite!
I spend most of my day typing account numbers into the keypad on my computer. I never look, I know where the buttons are. It’s a skill I honed working in bank for a few years. Occasionally I have to call someone to speak to them about a specific account, and when I have to dial out I always, ALWAYS dial the number as though it were on my keypad and not on the telephone. Sometimes this happens a few times before my brain can outpace my muscle memory and actually get it right.

Anyway, I don’t know who designed these two things to be so different from one another, but I think that we, the people, need to stand up and start a revolution for standardized key pads!

I’ll be in my cubicle if you need me.

Leave a Reply

