Merry Halloween?

Okay, in an effort not to sound like a total Scrooge I’m going to keep this post short.

I don’t want to appear like I’m down on every holiday but yesterday afternoon I walked into my office and found this:

Too soon, right? It was November 1st. Halloween was just two days ago. Our dear neighbours to the south have not even celebrated Thanksgiving yet. Now, I know that I outted myself for hating Halloween but I actually really like Christmas. The thing I hate though is that in recent years Christmas seems to start in October. I was in the mall two weeks ago and there were Christmas trees up in a store. I bought something at Sears and I was given a Christmas themed carrier bag. Call me crazy, but I think that if we keep starting the Christmas season earlier and earlier we risk making it less special. I understand that people get excited for the holidays but the anticipation of the season is what makes it so fantastic. Resist the urge to pull out your Christmas trees when you pack up your jack-o-lanterns. Save it for December.

As for Frosty – I can’t bear to erase him but I did turn him around to face the wall. I’ll flip him back in a month or so.

Leave a Reply

