If Cows Were Vegetables

So, do you know what last month was? January is the obvious answer, but it was actually more than just January, it was Veguary. A month devoted following a vegetarian lifestyle. The aim of it is to make us meat eaters aware of the benefits of a vegetarian diet and encourage us to change our steak lovin’ ways. I did not participate.

It’s not that I disagree with vegetarianism or that I don’t want to try to eat less meat, I do. In fact I have always said that if cows were vegetables I could easily be a vegetarian. I could live without bacon, or Thanksgiving turkey, I wouldn’t care if I never saw another chicken wing in my life, but I think a life without prime rib, or a nice porterhouse is not worth it for me. I would like it if that weren’t true, but at least in this time in my life, it is. I am aware of all the good things that can come from eating less meat. I would consume fewer calories, less fat, eat more fruits and vegetables, have more energy and leave a more positive influence on the environment but I just cannot bring myself to drop meat completely. The thought of doing something more extreme like going vegan terrifies me. In the interest of full disclosure, I have an allergy to dairy that I refuse to cater to. I have learned the things that make me sick and which are worth the tummy ache. A dairy free life would probably do wonders for me but a life without cheese is no life at all. Brie and fresh apples, anyone?

I would like to eat less meat though, I have tried Meatless Monday but as some of you may know my usual Monday activities sometimes make that difficult. So my commitment to myself it to be more conscious about my meat (and dairy) consumption. Will the burger taste as good with a veggie patty instead of beef? Could I remove the meat from dishes like chilli, fajitas and soups and still find them as satisfying? Probably. These are the choices that I need to make. It’s being conscious about the choices one makes. I think that a lot of people tend to eat out of habit. We eat the same things over and over, and we often don’t think about the things that we are putting into our bodies. I can say that come Thanksgiving I likely be eating turkey, but perhaps I will be seeing more soy milk in my lattes.

My questions to you dear readers – do you think about the amount of meat you eat? Are you vegetarian or have you gone veg in the past? Could you and would you be willing to try? Do you have an amazing vegetarian recipe that I absolutely must try? Share, share!

Leave a Reply

