myPod

While surfing through my Google reader this morning, I stumbled across this video on The Gentleman Will Sit Down.

It got me to thinking about what very personal item an iPod can be. I wonder how much you could learn about a person just by flipping through their iPod.

If you were to look through my little device you would probably get a better picture of me as a person. You would know that I am (almost embarrassingly) a pretty big Bon Jovi fan. That I have an extreme CBC addiction and will listen to podcasts all day long at work. That my father raised me with a pretty heavy love of classic rock, evidenced by Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones, CCR and every Beatles album. You might be able to deduce that I was a teen in the mid nineties by the Bush, No Doubt, Everclear, Foo Fighters and Nirvana. You would probably wonder what the soundtrack to The Phantom of The Opera was doing on there, but Martina knows why. Maybe you would notice that I am Canadian by seeing Sam Roberts and The Tragically Hip in the rotation. That I am interested in nutrition and health by the all the fitness podcasts. You would easily figure out that my favourite TV shows are Mad Men, Lost and The Office. You would even know that I took a road trip to Jasper a few years ago, what my best friend looks like and even just how cute Alyson’s kids are. You would know that my current musical taste are alt/rock-ish, mostly Mumford and Sons, Kings of Leon, Adele and Arcade Fire with the occasional interjection of Britney and Gaga.

The truth is that there is probably a story behind every song, picture and podcast. I promise you there are a few songs I hate but can’t get rid of because they remind me of a certain person or event. There are songs I love and listen to way too often and there are playlists based purely on the mood I hope they elicit. I really think you could figure out more about me by thumbing through my iPod than you could by flipping through my Blackberry, but that’s just my opinion. What does your iPod say about you? Is it what you thought? Do you think that it is an accurate portrayal of the person you think you are? Take a look. You might be surprised by what you find.

3 thoughts on “myPod

  1. Martina says:

    Oooh, Phantom of the Opera!! 😉

    Thanks for the shout out! I am not surprised by a single thing on your ipod! lol But very interesting how much it says about a person.

    I have no ipod, what does that say about me? LOL

    Like

  2. Martina says:

    I know! But unfortunately my music kind of tapered off after the kids. I really am sad and old as I prefer silence now! LOL I had an ipod shuffle for awhile, then my brother’s old one, but they’re both lost/broken. No time to listen to the music I want anymore!

    Like

Leave a Reply

