Winning Pins – Cheesy Au Gratin Potatoes

I have heard this dish called many different things. The original author of this recipe calls the dish Cheesy Au Gratin Potatoes but I have also heard it called funeral potatoes, Christmas potatoes, party potatoes. Regardless of what you call it, this dish is easy simple but delicious.

 

Click to access the original recipe

 

Difficulty – 3/10 If you can chop an onion, you can make this recipe. It’s pretty straightforward. I have seen other recipes online that are even easier than this one, because they use cream of something soup, but in my option, I would rather take the few extra minutes to avoid condensed soup

Time – About an hour, but most of that is cook time. The author gives different times and temperatures based on what you might be cooking it with (ie. ham, as this is a typical Easter dish). Prep time is 15 to 20 minutes.

Taste – 7/10

Reviews – I made this for Judgy Christmas and everyone loved it. This is one of those dishes that most people’s mothers or grandmothers used to make for holidays so the nostalgia factor is high on this one. That being said, my mother never made this growing up, and when I made it for her for Easter this past year she was not a big fan. She is the only person I have met that doesn’t love these potatoes.

Would I make it again? Yes. This recipe is great for potlucks and feeding a crowd. It is not a glamorous recipe by any stretch of the imagination. I wouldn’t make this for a fancy dinner party, but I would take it to a less formal pot luck. It goes with a variety of different mains, like ham, burgers, chicken. I also love that there is no cream of anything soup in this recipe. For some reason that really creeps me out. This dish is not healthy, but sometimes you just need to indulge. It’s great for cold winter night.

Leave a Reply

