Winning Pins – Fried Ice Cream Cookies

I love fried ice cream. I really do, but having a dairy allergy puts ice cream on my no go list. Also, let’s be honest, the best part of fried ice cream is the fried part. You don’t get too many people fighting for the vanilla centre, am I right? So when I came across this recipe I knew I had to make it. I was skeptical to be sure, especially since the author claims that the flavour in these cookies are ‘spot on’.

 

Click to access the original recipe

 

Difficulty – 3/10 Cookies are generally pretty easy peasy, these are no different.

Time – About a half hour.

Taste – 7/10

Reviews – I made these for New Years Eve and they were a pretty big hit. They are strangely addictive. They are chewy, crunchy, salty and sweet. Misty and Robbie loved them and have asked me to make them again. I liked them, but they are strange. They really aren’t like any other cookie I have ever made, which can work for them and against them. If your friends are expecting chocolate chip, do not make these. If you are looking for something outside of the usual oatmeal raisin, these are the cookies for you.

Would I make it again? Yes. I haven’t made them since the first time, but that probably has more to do with the fact that I’m not a huge baker. These cookies are different from most others and I think you will find that they can be divisive (well, as divisive as any cookie can be), some people will love them, some will not. Be ready for the controversy.

I made these about a week after I made cheesy au gratin potatoes, which was helpful since I already had a huge box of Cornflakes in the house.   🙂

Leave a Reply

