Halloween Recap

It’s been a festive week here in these parts! On Judgy Monday we took the time to celebrate Andrew’s birthday a little early. His actual birthday is right on Halloween but I decided to give him his cake on Monday since he would probably get enough sugar on his actual birthday. At first I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to out do last year’s cake, but when I asked him what kind of cake he wanted and he replied, “one with sprinkles”, I knew exactly what to make!

Image

Easy enough. I used a boxed funfetti mix, so that there were sprinkles on the inside as well, made a homemade butter-cream frosting, then once it was frosted, I put a cut out of a five that I printed earlier in the day right on the top, covered the cake in sprinkles then peeled off the five. Andrew loved it. When I showed it to him his exact words were, “that’s exactly what I wanted!!”. I love making the kids special cakes on their birthdays. After we ate a delicious stir-fry made by Aly, we lit the cake and sang Happy Birthday to little Andrew.

 

Image

Image

 

After the kids went to bed we really got into the Halloween spirit. Aly bought pumpkins for all of us to carve.

Image

My pumpkin was not entirely fresh. To be more accurate, it was rotting. I decided to just go with it. This was the result…

Image

He wasn’t feeling well. I actually made a similar face when I discovered that he was rotting.

Last night I went back to Alyson and Jeremy’s place to hand out candy while they took the kids around the neighbourhood. It’s something I have done every year since the kids were born. Last night however I wasn’t feeling well (see life imitating art, re:my pumpkin). I went to their place, gave Andrew his birthday present and saw a few adorable children, but when Meghan got there I decided I was better off in bed and went home before the kids got back. I was disappointed that I didn’t get to see their haul, but at the same time I’m glad I got to see them before they went out.

Hope you all had a great Halloween. I will leave you with a picture of my pumpkin all lit up on the big night.

Leave a Reply

