Advent 2012 – Days 7, 8 and 9

I am behind. Raise your hand if you’re surprised. This past weekend I had planned on going to Niagara Falls to spend some time with Misty. I found out on Friday that my mum was sick, so I decided to go up a day early to keep her company and make dinner for her and her husband. I made maple Dijon chicken, roasted potatoes and parmesan roasted cauliflower. I did suffer a small injury while making dinner, but my mum assures me that my finger nail will grow back. Here’s hoping.

Before we sat down for dinner I opened beer 7, Shock Top Belgian White. It was nice, fresh and crisp. Ive actually had it before, and it makes a nice summer beer.

shocktop

 

Saturday, before I went to Misty’s place, I made some spinach and artichoke dip and opened beer 8, Russian Imperial Stout. This is the first beer in three years that I have not been able to finish. It was very strong. I like dark beers, and I like stouts, but this was a little more than I could handle. It seems to be the opinion of most people I spoke to, even though Rob seemed to really like it.

photo (2)

On Sunday I spent some time with my nephew Nicholas before I made the drive back to my place. I had a pretty relaxing afternoon. I was exhausted from being up late with my mother, then up early with Nico. I made some chili and cornbread and opened beer number 9.

photo (3)

Amsterdam Nut Brown Ale was great! Probably one of my favourites so far and it went really well with my chili!

Leave a Reply

