On Writing

Recently I was catching up on my blog reading and perusing this post by Jenny Lawson (aka The Bloggess). She was doing a Q&A with her readers and the following question really resonated with me.

image001

Isn’t this something that every writer feels? I have to admit, I can get disheartened by the stats for my site. I think all the time there must be no point in writing this blog if almost no one reads it. But then I have to think about who I am doing this for.

Am I writing this to impress people or get the kind of recognition that Ms. Lawson has? No, absolutely not. I write here because sometimes I need more than the measly 140 characters Twitter allows me. I write here to recount my adventures, however small they might be. I use this space to voice my opinions and speak my peace. I write here because I know that like any skill, good writing requires practice. Most people who write will tell you that they write because they have to. I have to.

I have kept a journal since before I was even able to write in it. I received a 5 year diary when I was about 4 years old that my mother used to write in and recount my days for me. I wrote all through grade school and well into high school and university. The journal I have now actually dates back to right before I started dating my high school sweetheart (yep, it’s huge).  That journal is where I keep the really personal stuff. The stuff that I wouldn’t want on the internet. I once noticed that my journal tends to keep only sadness and hurt. I don’t always document the times I have fallen in love, but every break up I have ever had is detailed in that book. Sometimes the first mention of a boy is in my dissection of our break up.  It helps me get through and move on.

Here is where I keep the happy stuff. Here is where I document my travel, the births of my nieces and nephews. The everyday stuff that makes me happy and outlines who I am. I would never deny that bad stuff happens on this blog, and you will see some peeks of it now and then, but for the most part this is my little space on the internet to share my joy.

I hope you like it.

2 thoughts on “On Writing

  1. Chris R says:

    I like your blog and try to read when I see a new posting on your Twitter feed.
    I don’t follow many blogs but I enjoy reading about your life, mostly because your writing comes from a place that is real, not digital fiction.
    Don’t get discouraged! People are reading. You’re a great writer, chin up!
    Cheers,
    @Topher1973

    Like

Leave a Reply

