A Weekend in The Windy City

A few weeks ago I took my annual birthday trip. This year we decided to go to Chicago. I had a great time, but I have to say, nothing has replaced New York in my heart.

Chicago was a lot like Toronto. Very clean, lots of nice, polite people, and big buildings, but not nearly as crowded as you would think such a large city would be. In New York, at times there is barely room to stand on the sidewalks. Not so in Chicago. There were times in Paris where I was sure we could not fit one more person on the metro, but in Chicago I think there was only one time where we didn’t get seats on the train.

IMG_0756

 

IMG_0764

I’m going to do a little bit of a photo dump in a minute but before we get to that I wanted to reflect on some of my favourite moments from the trip. First, the river architecture tour. We got on board and got seats right up front. The tour guide was knowledgeable and the tour was over an hour long. You really get to see a lot of the city this way. It gives one the opportunity to get oriented and really get a feel for the town. I would recommend doing this early in the trip. One of the best parts of the tour is that it is licensed! And, being the states the liquor is cheap! Seriously. I got two pints of beer and a glass of red wine for $15. You couldn’t get just the two pints for that amount in Canada.

My second favourite part of the trip was Book of Mormon. It was absolutely hilarious. I knew that it would be a little off colour, given the fact that it is written by the guys that created South Park, but it was actually a lot more off side than I thought it would be. It was still really funny and I would absolutely go see it again. I meant to get tickets to the Saturday evening show, but I goofed and ended up getting matinee tickets. This resulted in a large amount of blue-hairs (see also: Golden Girls) being at the show. Given the language and content, I was surprised by how few of them left at intermission.

IMG_0772

 

IMG_0810

 

IMG_0846

My final, and absolute favourite part of the trip was my birthday meal. We ate at Chicago Cut Steakhouse and it was honestly the best meal I have had in my entire life. I am a girl that loves red meat. The bloodier, the better. This meal did not disappoint. First the restaurant was beautiful. Luxe, padded red booths, rich paneled walls and an amazing view of the river. Our table was right by the window and I spent the majority of the night dreamily staring out at the river and the Chicago skyline. Apparently many famous people dine there as well. Kristen Cavellari  and her footballer husband (some Cutler guy?) were there the night we were there and apparently John Cusack was there a few days before. There were actually some footballers sitting next to us for a bit. My mum recognized them, but I of course, did not. As if the view and the celeb cache wasn’t enough the meal was absolutely amazing. My filet mignon melted in my mouth, and the truffled scalloped potatoes were cheesy with just the perfect amount of truffle (seriously, everything is better with truffles). I actually do not have the words to describe just how delicious the dinner was, and I feel bad because I know I am not doing it any justice here.  Sam, I really cannot thank you enough for such a fabulous night. It was so generous and something I will remember forever. Thank you again.

Without further ado, please enjoy some more pictures from my trip!

 

IMG_0857

 

IMG_0861

 

IMG_0873

 

IMG_0883

 

IMG_0884

 

IMG_0909

Leave a Reply

