Friday Favourites

Hello blogsters!

It’s been some crazy times around here. Two weeks ago I was completely bogged down with work. I worked until 10 pm at home, I stayed at the office for close to 12 hours one day. It was brutal, and I was brain dead by the end of the week. I had full intentions of blogging last weekend, but my brain was essentially mush. Instead of fighting the mush, I embraced it and spent most of last weekend zoning out on the couch immersed in books, movies and mint mochas. It was bliss. Bliss I tell you!

This week has been busy as well, but for opposite reasons. Monday I had birthday drinks with Mike (his, not mine). Tuesday I had dinner with Sam (bribery to get him to remove the air-conditioning unit from my foyer). Wednesday I went to see Margaret Atwood speak at the University of Guelph with Meghan. It was so interesting. I honestly have not read much Atwood, but I have heard enough interviews with her to know that I should not pass up an opportunity to see her speak, and it was fabulous. She really is a very knowledgeable woman. It was a really great evening. Last night I had a work cocktail party thingie, but I bailed and got some errands done instead.

Anyway, because these past few weeks have been so crazy, I may submit to the mush again this weekend, but before I do, I thought I would leave you with some of my favourite things from in and around the intertron. We can always use more great gift ideas around this time of the year, right?

First, we will start off with an essential accessory if you are planning on spending a weekend on your couch (which I highly recommend), the perfect snugly blanket. This one is from Chapters Indigo, and I know I did a whole post on great things from them a few weeks ago, but I somehow missed this and only noticed it when I was in-store. One side is an impossibly soft cable-knit sweater and the other side is faux sheepskin. It is amazing, soft and warm.

882709104353

Anyone who has been reading for a while knows how much I love New York. Although I have been twice in the past few years, I have really been feeling the need to go back again. While I imagine that my trip will likely be in the spring, I would absolutely love to go in the winter. Holiday decorations all up and down 5th, streets quiet from the snow. So romantic!

New York in Winter

I made this curried cauliflower soup for Sam and Meghan a few weeks ago and it was absolutely delicious. Thick and rich on a cold night, this soup was definitely one I will be making again. The best part? It was really simple to make and comes together in just about 20 minutes.

curried cauliflower soup

I love my current iPhone case. Its a deep gold on the edges, with a leather back, but the leather is looking kind of ragged, so its time for a new one. I fell in love with this one from Zazzle. It’s feminine, but not too girly, black to match my phone and is customizable.

phonecase

I’m a total nerd at heart, and when I saw this onesie I began to wish my sister was as nerdy as I am because my new niece would look way too cute in it. Sadly, I don’t think my sister has even seen the Harry Potter movies, let alone read the books. I may have to get on this whole childbearing thing…

gryffindorable onsie

Hope everyone out there has a fabulous weekend, and if you are anywhere near me, try and stay warm!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favourites

Leave a Reply

