You Say You Want a Resolution?

Sorry for the bad Beatles pun. You can blame my father, my mother always does (boom!).

Anyway, it’s that time of year again. The time where we shelve all of our bad habits in search of a cleaner, healthier lifestyle only to go back to our old ways before January is done. I totally believe in power of resolutions as long as they are done right. You have to want to change. Really, really want to change. You also have to set small, measurable goals that will lead you to your larger goal. This, combined with a little willpower and when all the other people have given up, you will be well on your way to success.

I have two large goals for this year – both are about reducing. One is reducing debt, the other is reducing weight. I also have a bunch of smaller goals, but lets tackle the big ones first.

1. Lose 20 lbs – I have talked about it before on this blog, but somewhere along the way some excess weight found its way on to my frame. I’m not sure if its just that I was a little lax in my workout routine, or indulged in one too many glasses of wine one too many times, but its gotta go. This isn’t just about vanity. I am not happy with the way I look lately, and its not getting any better the older I get. Ideally, I would like to lose the weight by mid-year, then keep it off (if not lose more) for the rest of the year. This is going to be mean being more conscious about what I eat, and hitting the gym. I would especially like to focus on running and my yoga practice.

2. Reduce my credit card debt by 25% – This is a big one! I have been carrying around more credit card debt than I am comfortable with for some time now. It’s a long story but a lot of the debt accumulated when I was working for NO money at The Bank of Montreal, but still living in an apartment in a city with a rental market that would make you cry. Seriously, you would not believe how little bank tellers make for the amount of responsibility they have. It’s ridiculous. Still, I want to buy a house soon, and I know I will get better mortgage rates if I have less debt, and be able to save for a larger down payment since I will put the money I am currently putting on my card to my savings account. This also contributes to my weight loss, since I will be eating healthier by cutting dining out and brown bagging my lunch, I will have a little extra cash in my pocket.

Smaller Goals

These are goals that are less measurable than the big ones above, and with the exception of one, are kind of done or not done. Not really a path I am following, but just little things I would like to accomplish by this time next year.

  • Read 20 books
  • Go to the farmers market at 7:00 am (right when it opens!)
  • Run a 5k
  • purge all the junk in my bedroom that I have been meaning to throw away since I moved
  • organize the corner cupboard with all the pots and pans (seriously, its like the worlds worst game of Jenga in that cupboard)
  • do NaNoWriMo
  • one week completely TV free.
  • get an “excellent” on my French report card

So, those are my resolutions for this year. I am going to touch base and keep you all informed of my progress every three months. I’m hoping that this will help me keep track of my progress and keep me accountable.

What are all your goals for this year? How do you plan on accomplishing them?

Leave a Reply

