Staycation

I took the week after my move off to get settled in and enjoy my new surroundings. Also, this little button is notoriously bad with change, so I wanted to make sure that I was around for the first few days to make sure she was comfortable and not tearing up my new furniture.

IMG_1636

She actually handled the move fairly well, although she cried the entire time I was in the shower the day after we moved in. I called to her from the shower, “I’m right here, Milah. It’s okay” but she continued to wander around crying. At one point she even popped her head into the shower so she could cry right at me. As soon as I got out of the shower though she was fine, and other than the odd jump when the dishwasher or washing machine are running, she has been really comfortable in the new place.

Despite Mimi’s distress with me in the shower and the fact that I was still utterly exhausted, I was up early on Sunday morning and headed to the University of Guelph to see Chris Hadfield speak. He was speaking as part of the Impact! Youth Sustainability Conference, which is sponsored by my company, so I was lucky to have the opportunity through work to see him. It was such an incredible experience. Commander Hadfiled spoke about what it is like to launch from Earth into space, his fear of heights and goal setting. He was charming and fascinating. I actually downloaded his book a few nights ago, and cannot wait to read it. I also got to see Rob, who just returned home from a trip to Scotland, full of fabulous gifts, including a little something for Nico and Natalia.

IMG_1566

IMG_1568

I spent the early part of the week running errands to the doctor, stocking the fridge and making trips to Target and Home Depot. I planted my little urban garden, full of tomatoes, jalapenos, cilantro, chives, parsley, basil and oregano. I would love to have a big yard where I could plant a real vegetable garden, but for now this is enough. I looooove tomatoes and cannot get enough of them in the summer, so it will be nice to have my own stash.

IMG_1585

IMG_1580

Since my tomatoes will take a few weeks to grow, on Thursday I headed out to the St. Jacobs farmers market to stock up on veggies and other delicious offerings. I took home a bunch of peppers, hot italian and honey garlic sausages, cheese curds, tomatoes, some amazing pita chips and baba ganoush and the biggest onion I have ever seen!

IMG_1597

Its been a few years since I have been to St. Jacobs and I really feel like I could have spent a lot of money on all the fresh produce and yummy treats. I probably could have spent a good hundred dollars on the olive oils and specialty vinegars.

IMG_1592

Friday I was off to Burlington to do some shopping (curse you weight gain!!) and to pick up some stuff from Ikea. The trip was great but the results were not. The curtain rod I bought was way too long since I didn’t bother to measure the length of my closet before I left. Total rookie move. The desk chair I bought was hideous. The box said the chair was black, which I guess is technically true, but the seat of the chair has some funky black and white pattern that I just hate. The curtains covering my closet are also too long, so I will have to get my aunt to hem them. Why curtains over my bedroom closet you ask? Well, as I noted when I bought the condo, the bedroom is a tad small, so to save some space I put my dresser in the closet. Genius, right? Well, the problem was that it was going to be difficult to open the drawers of the dresser with the way the closet doors were positioned, so I removed them and decided to put a curtain up instead. Obviously, there is no way I could hang a curtain myself. Thankfully, I have some great friends, and Mike installed it with no problems!

IMG_1622

Saturday was technically the last day I had my old apartment. There were still a few things left to do at the old place, like remove some old furniture that was going to the dump, grab my full length mirror and freezer food which was all left behind by accident. Mike met me with his truck and we moved out all the old furniture. The coffee table we tossed was actually a wedding gift to my parents from my Nan, and the couches were purchased after my dad left and took a lot of our furniture. Old. I was glad to be rid of them. I am now the original owner of all of my furniture. A goal I have had for some time! Before I locked up the apartment for the last time, I shot this video –

I spent a lot of great years in that apartment. I fell in love, I fell in lust (and quickly back out again), I got my dream job and spent countless amazing evenings with friends. Bottles of wine were consumed, laughs were had, tears were cried, and I will definitely miss that old apartment. It’s where I grew up.

IMG_1617

Leave a Reply

