Saturday Morning Ramblings

It’s Saturday morning and I’m drinking coffee and watching Romeo and Juliet. This movie was everything to me when I was 16. I loved Shakespeare, and that combined with a cast of all the pretty people of my day…it was the perfect storm. I don’t think there’s a girl my age who didn’t want Leonardo DiCaprio (even in his tacky Hawaiian shirts) or who didn’t wish she looked as delicate as Claire Danes, even when she’s crying. Sigh….youth.

I really do need to get out of this Netflix vortex eventually. The condo is a wreck, the fridge is empty and I need to get to the gym. I’ve been trying to get (back) in shape but this weather makes it so hard! I’ve been going to spin class every week with Meghan, so that’s a good start, but I really need to start running again. But cozy couch trumps gym all the time. There are some great trails near my house though, and I really can’t wait to explore them again when the weather warms up. I’m a hearty Canadian girl, but -30 is too cold, even for me!

Since we’re rambling here, can we talk about hashtags? Twitter and Instagram have been “things” for a few years now and yet there are people who still have no idea what they are for. There is a person I follow on Instagram who never captions anything with words but instead uses a multitude of ridiculous hashtags. For example they would hashtag this post #watchinnetflix #dontwanttogetoffthecouch #itstoocoldtogooutsidesoimhibernating #summerplease. It drives me bonkers! Also, those of you who hashtag when your account is locked – do you know how pointless that is? The whole point of a hashtag is to make your post searchable by other users, but if your account is locked they will never see your hashtag. So unless you are using the hashtag to search your own posts or for the limited purpose of your approved followers finding certain posts, there really is no point. /rant

I will leave you with this, blogsters – the scene that even 15 years later, makes my heart skip a beat.

Did-My-Heart-Love-Til-Now-Forswear-It-Sight.-For-I-Never-Saw-True-Beauty-Till-This-Night-Quote-In-Romeo-+-Juliet

2 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Ramblings

  1. Lindsey @ Happy or Hungry says:

    Oh I am with you, Romeo and Juliet was everything when I was in late elementary school (I think I was 13 when it came out?), so yes yes yes to everything you said about Leo and Claire. Funny though, now I prefer Paul Rudd πŸ™‚
    Also, still have the soundtrack!

    Like

Leave a Reply

