Happy HistoriCanada Day

Well, hello. It’s been a long time, but you all knew I couldn’t let a Canada Day pass without giving you a little piece of Canadiana! In the past I have shared tales from the hinterland, a dancing log rider, and my favourite camp fire song. This year I bring you a Historica Heritage Minute.

Similar to the Hinterland Who’s Who, these little shorts would air on Canadian television between your favourite CBC shows to give you a little piece of Canadian history. Stories ranged from the invention of basketball to women’s suffrage, and even the story of how Canada got it’s name. I think the one I am about to show you is a favourite of Canadians who are about my age. It aired when I was maybe 9 years old and became our version of, “I’ve fallen and I cant get up!”.

If you would like to see more of these videos, you can find them all (including some pretty funny parody videos) at Historica Canada. Fellow Canucks, if you have a favourite video, be sure to tell me about it in the comments. Happy Canada Day!

Leave a Reply

