Watch This Space

I know things have been a little quiet around here lately, but that is about to change. On Wednesday I am starting Whole30, and I am planning on posting (almost) daily updates so that you can follow right along! Before all that happens though, let’s answer a few questions…

What is Whole30?

Whole30 is a body reset. Developed by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig, the program aims to reset your metabolism and reshape your relationship with food. It focuses on eliminating addictive and inflammatory foods such as grains, sugar, dairy and legumes and replaces them with whole fruits, vegetables, meat and seafood. It is not about restriction at all. It is about resetting hormone levels in the body so that your body recognizes when it’s hungry and when it is not.

Why are you doing it?

I think the first reason is just to see if I can. I love pasta, red wine and pizza so it will be interesting to see just how challenging going without those things can be. Also, lately I have found that what I used to call “treats” are now becoming the norm. I ate cake at the office the other day not because I wanted it or even liked it (it’s not great cake), but just because it was there. I find myself making less healthy choices than I used to and sometimes feeling out of control with cravings. Whole30 aims to give you control back and break those stranglehold junk food can have on you.

The other reason I am doing this is just to see if the hype is real. I typically do not believe in this sort of thing. I have never been one for fad diets or trends. I have always believed ‘everything in moderation’ and that things like Paleo or Atkins were really restrictive and impossible to maintain over the long-term. I actually still believe these things to be true, but I thought if 30 days can change the way I feel about food, then what do I have to lose? I have read a few bloggers who have completed the Whole30 and raved out about their experiences. These are women like me who enjoy a cocktail and have never met a poutine they didn’t like, so I kind of figured, if they can do it, I can too!

Finally, I was diagnosed with a diary allergy when I was about 8. For most of my life I have largely ignored this diagnosis. I avoid dairy where I can (soy in my coffee, almond milk in cereal), and know which things are absolutely off limits (brie! Sweet, sweet brie) and which I am willing to suffer for (pizza!), but I am interested to see if completely eliminating diary from my diet has a positive effect on me. After 30 days, there is a reintroduction period where one by one you introduce the eliminated foods back into your diet and I am anxious to see what happens when the cheese returns.

What are you going to miss most?

Wine! And my coffee creamer. Coffee is not forbidden – there is no way I would do this if it were – but it must be black. That will be an adjustment.

Where can I find out more?

There are a ton of great resources out there. I have searched Instagram and Pinterest for recipe ideas and inspiration, but by far the best resource is whole30.com. I also really recommend reading the book It Starts With Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig. It does a great job of outlining the problems our body faces on a modern diet, what happens to our hormones and a lot of the diet related diseases we face due to inflammatory foods.

I’m excited to be doing this and I can’t wait to share my experience with you.

If any of you have done Whole30, please share your experience in the comments!

Leave a Reply

